The Bitter Season – Shikyba Azizi


THE BITTER SEASON by Shikyba Azizi

Prisoner inside the veil by shikyba azizi

11 January to 11 February 2011

Shikyba Azizi was born in Kabul, Afghanistan. She lives and works in London.She says: “Through my work, I try to reflect events experienced in war torn Afghanistan my homeland. Personal experiences of war where death, destruction, hunger are commonplace in extreme context to my life in the west where I live in exile. My work attempts to address issues relating to the tyranny of war and can be seen as a metaphor for eternal conflict and resistance.
Through a process of abstraction and the use of metaphor my works engage the viewer in a dialogues that attempt to more beyond the specific in an attempt to come to terms with the complexity of the situation. I use monochromatic materials as main material for my work. My current sculpture works are concerned with using black fabric and wire in a symbolic way. By cutting, pulling and dissecting the materials, I explore a sudden intense feeling of fear into the space.”
We would like to thank the British Afghan Women’s Society and the Afghan Association Paiwand for their generosity in sponsoring this exhibition.
Shikyba Azizi      Barow40@hotmail.co.uk      http://www.b-uncut.net/profile/ShikybaAzizi

One response to “The Bitter Season – Shikyba Azizi

  1. I really like your expressions displayed in your works.
    i too would like to share my work with you also am an Asian female artist and would like to promote my work would you help me in this area thankyou.

Leave a Reply

